Autumn Ponderings

Autumn is a special time of year for me.  It reminds me of how to adapt to change.  The beautiful canvas of colors inspires me to slow down and delight in the visual sensations.  Upon observation of this annual phenomenon, I ponder and appreciate how nature has provided visual clues to upcoming changes. It inspires me to look from multiple perspectives and different levels of magnitude. There are changes going on at a microscopic level, at a systems level, at a social level. Every cell of every leaf on a tree responds to shortened daylight by displaying brilliantly with a cumulative effect of providing a wondrous collage, and reluctantly, to the shedding of its beautiful product. I am a scientist, no doubt about it. As much as I appreciate the beauty of artistic expression, whether by nature or man, I am more interested in the how and why. I want to discover the root cause. I like observing situations and analyzing needs, variables and outcomes. Autumn is a good time for analysis, because it makes me also think of trends over time. How long did the colors last the previous year, will we revel in them longer this year? When you think about it, it was probably these natural biologic cycles that inspired predictive analytics. Trying to understand what might come next, what the possible scenarios are. The colors will come, then go. And we will adapt.

Published by Tee Dubs

I am a retired information geek, now following topics of interest - The Metaverse, AI, Drones, Intellectual property.

Leave a comment