New SQL and Information Avalanche

I just read a great article in Harvard Business Review about the information avalanche.  The author, Ron Ashkenas just wrote a new book Simply Effective which just went on my reading list for when I finish the Davenport book I mentioned last week.  Both books use business intelligence techniques to help manage the onslaught of information.

Coincidently, or maybe not, Microsoft SQL Server 2012 Virtual Launch occurred this week on the same day as the Apple iPad 3 launch.  Microsoft had some “technical difficulties” and the event didn’t start on time.  The twittersphere was ablaze, but once the content started flowing, it turned out to be a decent introduction to the new product version.  I didn’t find out about the points and badges game until too late, but I thought it was an interesting foray into social media.  I can’t wait to see how MS, using SQL 2012, will analyze all this data, and what the analysis will show.

More data and new tools to manage it.  In the coming weeks I will share some of my attempts at using some of the new features of SQL 2012.  But right now, I am interested in what tools you are using to help manage the avalanche of data, both personally and at work.  Is mobility a factor?  Do you wonder how you would survive without your smartphone?  Do tablets (iPad or Android) fit into the picture?  What apps do you rely on?

Take my short poll and let me know.  Until next time, keep thinking good BI thoughts!

Published by Tee Dubs

I am a retired information geek, now following topics of interest - The Metaverse, AI, Drones, Intellectual property.

Leave a comment