Novel Confessions

I have a confession to make. I’m a Baldacci snob when it comes to Audible pleasure listening. Since retiring from Microsoft, one of my true pleasures is to be able to get lost in a story, and Audible makes that very easy with the array of titles they offer. I had remembered my books on tape from commuting days, and once I drove around the block three times just to hear the end of a Baldacci story. So when Audible presented his novels as chosen for me, I eagerly downloaded one, then two, then a boxed set of three…you can see where this is going, I got totally hooked. Addicted. Waiting for the next credit became torturous, I had to buy three extra credits to get my fix, they had me.

Since my vision is deteriorating, listening instead of reading has become my main source of information input. I have many days that are cloudy despite the sunshine outside, and listening has become a coping mechanism as well as a respite. I enjoy my story listening, not multitasking while the narrator takes me into other places and characters. Since I have finished so many Baldacci novels in the last three months, I decided to try a different author, so I downloaded a Tom Clancy novel. I’m sorry, the storytelling is not nearly as good at capturing your whole attention as David Baldacci’s writing. So there’s my confession, and now you know…

Published by Tee Dubs

I am a retired information geek, now following topics of interest - The Metaverse, AI, Drones, Intellectual property.

One thought on “Novel Confessions

Leave a comment